Musta Paraati: Tavastia 2015 Live & Mini-Tour in Celebration of the 40th Anniversary of the album Peilitalossa

Celebrating the 40th anniversary of the album Peilitalossa, Musta Paraati, a Finnish post-punk/gothic rock band, successfully completed a Finnish mini-tour. The band recently presented a live album, recorded during the show at the legendary Tavastia Helsinki on the 7th of November, 2015, with the singer Herra Ylppö.

The original members – the guitarist Saku Paasiniemi and the drummer Ykä Knuuttila rocked the stage with the bassist Karo Broman, Kari Tornack on synthesizer and the vocalist, Herra Ylppö.

The mini-tour began with the Off Road Festival in Jyväskylä on the 16th of September and continued with performances in Tampere, 23.9, Turku, 22.9, and Helsinki on September 21st, 2023.

Musta Paraati live by Vilma Timonen, from the On The Rocks gig 21st of September; Photo credit: Musta Paraati official

Musta Paraati’s TAVASTIA 2015, LIVE was released by Deggael Communications, 2023. It was mastered by Mika Jussila (Finnvox Studios), mixed by Mikko Karmila (Finnvox studios) and recorded by sound engineer Janne Vuori. The album includes two previously unreleased songs: ‘Huomisen kuolleet’ and ‘Toinen puoli’.


01. Kädet

02. Muukalainen

03. Metalliset kasvot

04. Peilitalo

05. Eläimen kalu

06. Toinen puoli

07. Ennustus

08. Kuva

09. Ajatus

10. Veitsen terällä

11. Nukke

12. Uusi musta

13. Hyvää yötä

14. Toinen johtaja

15. Romanssi

16. Uudet juhlat

17. Huomisen kuolleet

Musta Paraati, Tavastia Live 2015, Line-up: Saku Paasiniemi – guitars; Panada Nikander – bass; Jari Kääriainen – synthesizers; Ykä Knuuttila – drums; Herra Ylppö – vocals

Musta Paraati is a Finnish post-punk/gothic rock band, comparable to Killing Joke and Theatre of Hate. The original band was active for only a few years in the early 1980s, although its line up changed several times until disbanding in 1985, following the release of their second album. The band made one comeback gig in 1987.

The band was rediscovered during the early 2000s post-punk boom, resulting in a CD release of their 1983 debut album Peilitalossa with numerous hits included as bonus tracks. During those two years, the lineup changed many times, with Saku Paasiniemi (guitar) and Panda Nikander (bass) remaining in the band from the beginning.

Musta Paraati reunited in 2015 to play several concerts in Finland, including the Provinssirock festival in Seinäjoki on June 27. This edition of the band featured the Peilitalossa-era lineup with Herra Ylppö of Maj Karma.

Their third studio album and first in 36 years, Black Parade, featuring new vocalist Jyrki 69, was released in 2018 by Cleopatra Records. First Musta Paraati live-album TAVASTIA from 2015 Tavastia gig was released by DEGGAEL in 2023.


Musta Paraati, Current reunion lineup:

Herra Ylppö – vocals (present)

Saku Paasiniemi – guitars, backing vocals (1982–1985, 2014–present)

Karo Broman – bass, backing vocals (present)

Ykä Knuuttila – drums, backing vocals (1982–1983, 1987, 2014–present)

Kari Tornack – keyboards (2018–present)

Photo: Musta Paraati 2023, by Timo Isoaho

#MustaParaati #TavastiaLive #LiveAlbum #FinnishPostPunkGothicRock #FinnishTour